You cannot copy contents of this page.

Consider to upgrade to get all contents.

All Access Pass

Loka Purusha Jain Symbol

Loka Purusha

in , ,

Choose Your Desired Option(s)

Description of Loka Purusha

In Jain cosmology, the Loka Purusha is the one who represents the cosmos. He occurs in Jain cosmograms and his body is mapped with the realms of the gods, mankind, and the damned. Urdhva Loka, the world of gods, is shown on his upper chest and is sprinkled with shrine figures. Manushya Loka, or the world of mankind, lies at the center, with each concentric circle representing a different aspect of terrestrial existence, ranging from rivers to mountains to animals. Adha Loka is the domain of people who burn in purgatory, and it is frequently symbolized by terrible pictures near the Lokapurusha’s feet.

Bold – Light – Outlined – Colorable
Each variation is included in the file package.

Jain main description

Jainism Symbols With its roots in India at least 2,500 years ago, Jainism is among the world's oldest religions. The teachings of Jainism are eternal, and as a result, according to its traditions, it has no creator. However, the Jainism of this era may be traced back to Mahavira, a teacher from the sixth century BCE and a contemporary of the Buddha. The attainment of Moksha, or the all-knowing state, is the spiritual goal of Jainism. It involves being freed from the never-ending cycle of reincarnation. This can be accomplished through Ahimsa (nonviolence).  Like Buddhists, Jainists honor saints who have attained total liberation from the bonds of worldly life. The 24 Tirthankaras, who symbolize the apex of the Jains' religious development and emerged as instructors at various points in history, are the most significant of them. The Tirthankaras, along with 12 Chakravartins (world conquerors), nine Vasudevas (counterparts of Vasudeva), and nine Baladevas (counterparts of Balarama, the elder half-brother of Krishna) constitute the 54 Mahapurusas (great souls), to which nine Prativasudevas (enemies of the Vasudevas) were later added. Other, less significant characters with Hindu influences include the nine Naradas (counterparts of the goddess Narada, the intermediary between gods and humans), the eleven Rudras (counterparts of the Vedic god Rudra), and the twenty-four Kamadevas (gods of love). The Bhavanavasis (house gods), Vyantaras (intermediaries), Jyotiskas (luminaries), and Vaimanikas (astral gods) are the other four categories of gods. Here is a list of some significant Jain Symbols with their details.

0 Sale

Product Information

Ancient Fonts Collection


Get All Access Pass

Cart (0)

  • Your cart is empty.