You cannot copy contents of this page.

Consider to upgrade to get all contents.

All Access Pass

Chakra Symbols Chart

Chakra Symbols - Chakra Meanings - Chakra Vectors

Chakra symbols are found in Hinduism and Buddhism, both of which have their roots in the Indian subcontinent. These traditions are sometimes grouped together as Tantra.
Chakra is a Sanskrit word which translates to ‘wheel’ or disk’ (sometimes ‘circle’). These meanings relate chakras to the concept of energy – particularly energy and motion – but also to religious and spiritual rituals, in which participants typically stand in a circular formation.
Ancient Hindu thought holds that there are two planes of existence: the physical, material plane and the non-physical realm. The non-physical realm might be thought to be where thoughts, spirits, emotions and energy are found.
In Buddhism, the word chakra – meaning ‘circle’ or ‘wheel’ – can be thought to represent the cycle of birth, death and rebirth.
In the Sat-Cakra-Nirupana, and the Padaka-Pancaka, both influential tantric texts, chakras are described as “emanations of consciousness” that come from the spiritual plane into the material world. Chakras are thought to be wheels of energy, spinning within and, at the same time, outside the body. This energy is called prana, and it is the life-force energy. Prana also translates as ‘breath’.
In the Western world, chakras and their associated symbols are most commonly associated with the practices of yoga and meditation. It is believed, particularly in the New Age movement, that chakras can become blocked or otherwise misaligned, stifling creativity or causing ill health.
Over time, a model of 7 chakras, each corresponding with a location on the human body, has developed. This is the most visible depiction of chakras in the modern age, though it is not the only one. Ancient Hindu and Buddhist texts present many alternate systems and doctrines.

Svadhishthana – Sacral chakra Symbol

Svadhishthana – Sacral chakra

The Svadhishthana also known as “Sacral chakra” is located at the root of the sexual organ or groin, its name means “The Residence of the Self”. It represents base emotion, sexuality and creativity. The Svadhisthana symbol depicts as a six-petaled lotus. within which is a crescent moon (representing water).
The modern color associated to Svadhishthana chakra is orange.

Sahasrara - Crown chakra symbol

Sahasrara – Crown chakra

The Sahasrara or “Crown chakra” is the topmost chakra, located above the head outside the body, its name means “Thousand-petaled”. It represents consciousness, within which there is neither object nor subject and the highest spiritual human centre. The chakra is depicted by a lotus flower with one thousand (sometimes nine hundred seventy-two petals) multi-coloured petals.
The modern color associated to Sahasrara chakra is multi-coloured or violet.

Muladhara - Root chakra symbol

Muladhara – Root chakra

The Muladhara also know as the “Root chakra” is located at the base of the spine, its name means “Root support”. It represents instinct, security, survival and potentiality. It is symbolized as a four-petaled lotus with a square at its center (representing earth). This is the bottom-most chakra in human body.
The modern color associated to Muladhara chakra is red.

Manipura - Solar plexus chakra symbol

Manipura – Solar plexus chakra

The Manipura is located in the navel or solar plexus, its name means “Jewel city”. It represents moving from simple to complex emotion, energy, assimilation and digestion. Manipura is depicted with an upward pointing triangle (representing fire) in the middle of a lotus with ten petals.
The modern color associated to Manipura chakra is yellow.

Anahata - Heart chakra symbol

Anahata – Heart chakra

The Anahata is located in the heart and its meaning is “Unstruck”. In esoteric Buddhism is known as Dharma.
It represents compassion, love, equilibrium and well-being. It is depicts a lotus with twelve petals. It contains a “yantra” – two intersecting triangles – representing the union of the male and female.
The modern color associated to Anahata chakra is green.

Anja - Third-eye chakra symbol

Anja – Third-eye chakra

The Anja also known as Guru chakra means “Command” and is said to correspond to the ‘third eye’, said to provide insight or vision that transcends the material world. It is the chakra of time, awareness and of light. It is depicted a lotus flower with two petals. It contains a downward-facing triangle (representing wisdom). The third-eye chakra is located behind the center of the eyebrows, in the brain.
The modern color associated to Anja chakra is indigo.

Vishuddha – Throat chakra symbol

Vishuddha – Throat chakra

Vishuddha (or Vishuddhi) also known as “Throat chakra” is located at the throat, its name means “Purest”. It represents communication, growth, and expression. It is depicted as a lotus with sixteen petals. It contains a downward-facing triangle surrounding a circle (representing ‘aether’ or quintessence).
The modern color associated to Vishuddha chakra is blue.

Download All Chakra Symbols

Cart (0)

  • Your cart is empty.